a r
c h
i v
D a t
a b a
s e s

Databases

Archival Information System Arcinsys

The information system Arcinsys of the Hesse Federal State Archive provides access to the records of the documenta exhibitions 1 to 3; as well as to the personal papers of Arnold Bode und Harry Kramer. The system allows a detailed research.

 

 

 

In addition the finding aids to documenta exhibitions 1 to 12 are available as PDF files.

 

Media Collection and Press Material

The documenta archiv can provide photographic and audiovisual material as well as material from the press collection for research purposes or for publications in accordance with the applicable copyright law. Upon receipt of your request, the documenta archiv staff will carry out internal research in the archive's finding aids and you will be informed whether and which material is available and can be made available for use.

 

You can find further information on how to use our services here.

 

Please send your image requests to:

mediensammlung[at]documenta.de

 

Please direct inquiries about the press collection to:

aktenarchiv[at]documenta.de

The Library Catalog

The Library Catalog (OPAC = Online Public Access Catalog) provides access to the art library’s holdings of books, exhibition catalogs, magazines, and ephemera of 20th and 21st century art; to the documenta exhibitions and its participating artists. Catalogued items include new additions of the past 20 years as well as approximately 25.000 previously uncatalogued items.  

The search mask is available in German and English. There is no distinction between upper and lower case letters. Further tips on search tools can be found directly on the user interface. Search results appear in chronological order (descending) which includes bibliographical information and shelf marks. Hits may be accessed individually and in full, and are linked to relevant or related materials as well as our artists’ database.

The full view provides information to artists who participated in a documenta exhibition and connects to our other databases.

European Art Net

European-​art.net presently connects twelve art archives, all operating on an international level, on the basis of their databases. A meta search engine enables simultaneously access to artists, artists groups, art institutions and other topics relevant to art of the 20th and 21st century of all participating archives. Information on archival records, documents and publications are available.

Audio- and Video Database mediaartbase.de

The database mediaartbase.de contains a selection of audio and video materials of documenta exhibitions from 1959 to 2002. Starting point are the broadcasts of second documenta exhibition since 1959 by public radio and TV stations; as well as programs about documenta artists, private recordings of individual exhibits; and occasional artistic video productions.

Online access to most audio and video materials is restricted. Due to copyright restrictions, most materials are only available as descriptive files – with the exception of just a few recordings such as those from the lecture series 100 Tage 100 Gäste [100 days, 100 visitors] at documenta 10 (1992). The full contents can be viewed in the reading rooms of the documenta archiv. The database mediartbase.de was generously funded by the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation) and the Kulturstiftung der Länder (Cultural Foundation of the Federal States).